os sons de primavera são: olha! olha! esquilo! ribbit…

Bom dia!! Thanks for all the emails I got- yáll are the greatest.

What a wonderful weekend we had. This past General Conference was one of the most special conferences I´ve ever assisted. I can´t believe 6 months has already passed… I remember sitting in Santo Amaro watching Conference in English in a little room with other missionaries. I wasn´t frustrated by my lack of understanding portuguese but I wanted to improve. I made a goal that by October, my last General Conference as a misisonary, that I would watch- and understand– in portuguese.

As the days for conference got closer, I made my list of questions. I had a bunch of questions from the weakness I need to improve, how to help my area, etc. Saturday we arrived in the chapel. I was invited to watch in English but I declined. General Conference started, I listened and I understood. I received answers. Then the next session started and the same thing happened. Sunday came and the pattern continued. I listened and I understood every word that was spoken. I received answers to ALL of my questions and doubts. Another miracle happened… all of the notes I took were written in portuguese.

I can not adequatley express in words all that I have seen, heard, and learned these past 18 months but I can express in words, to some degree, my testimony.

I testify that Heavenly Father is our loving Father in Heaven who plays an ACTIVE role in our lives wether we realize it or not. Prayer is the method of communication in which we show our desire to recognize His hand more fully in our lives. As we increase in our desire and sincerity of prayer, our knowledge of who we are increases. As we converse openely, frankly, and reverntly with God Almighty every part of our soul begins to change.

I testify that this change is a process. As we read the ´´letters´´ (scriptures) and ´´emails´´ (church magazines) daily we understand more of who He is. This change begins to take root and we begin to see the fruits of the Spirit working more fully in our lives- fruits of love, peace, joy, service, diligence, and light fill our lives.

I testify that the gospel, priesthood, rights, authorities, blessings, commandments, and church were restored- brought again in their original form- to the Earth through the Prophet Joseph Smith. I know he saw God the Father and His Son, Jesus Christ. The leaders- especially those of the First Presidency and the Quorum of the 12 Apostles- are called and ordained of God. They are servants of the Perfect Master. They preach and exort the truth in all of her forms.

I testify that there is more to life than this earthly state. Opposition exists, sadness and sin are real, but there exists hope. This hope comes through the Atonement of our Savior and Redeemer Jesus Christ. He understands everything. He is full of compassion and mercy. He walked the path that we must follow if we want peace and joy in this life and in the life to come.

This gospel is eternal. The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints is the Church of Jesus Christ. I´m not perfect nor is anyone who belongs to the Church but we have all of the methods in which we can improve. I send this testimony as my witness that Heavenly Father loves us, that Jesus Christ lives, that The Book of Mormon is a testament of our Savior, that Joseph Smith was a prophet of God and that Thomas Monson is His prophet today.

I opened my mission call reading the words of ´´The Fellowship of the Unashamed.`´ I knew then a little bit of what I would experience. I had a testimony of all of this then. The thing thats changed is that my testimony has deepened. I will live and I would die for this gospel and this Church. I am part of the Fellowship of the Unashamed.

All of my love,
Sister Brooke Wolfgramm

Leave a Reply

