Nossa! Voce e elastica!

BOM DIA FAMILY!! I am emailing from Santo Amaro. My new companion is Sister Varela and she is from Montevideo, Uruguay! She is awesome. I love her so much. We laugh, act like fools, and have ´language fails´ cada dia. (yeah we arrived in Brasil the same time and our native languages arent portuguese… this is truly the Lords work!!!!) Im teaching her how to burp (#classyamurican), how to harmonize, and how to say awkward. Its great.

Santo Amaro is the Iowa City of Brasil. No joke. Our area is the twin to my first area in Iowa! I am so excited because 1) I know how to work in an area like this now 2) I loved Iowa City with my whole heart (still do) 3) I learned and grew like never before as I applied the Atonement of Jesus Chirst and strived to develop His attributes… now I get to do the same thing in Brasil 🙂 It truly is amazing to see how the Lord sends us to places, gives us certain experiences, etc to mold us into the people He needs us to be in the future. I love that word- mold… when I hear or read it I imagine someone tenderly holding a lump of clay and with patience shaping the blob of clay into a beautiful masterpeice. The process takes time and then we still have to go through a refining process, but the end result is always worth it. My mission has truly taught me to be patient. I am so grateful for that.

My study this past week (Ive been reading the General Conference talks from last October) had a theme: the importance of spiritual preparation. As missionaries we get 2-4 hours to study and prepare ourselves spiritually for the day ahead of us. It is a grand privilege and essential for our well being!!! As we spiritually prepare cada dia, we are able to endure whatever comes our way. Eu sou grato for this principle. It truly is essential for our survival on this earth! We are spiritual beings having a physical experience. We are saints within a natural man. As F. Enzio Busche said first and foremost we are spirit children of our Heavenly Father. If we neglect to feed our spirit, we will reap unhappiness.

My invitation to yall this week is to spiritually prepare yourselves… read the scriptures, ponder on them, pray to your Heavenly Father, and then listen to the feelings of the Spirit. Reflect on what you have experienced, what you learned, and what you can apply throughout the day. I promise your faith, love, confidence, and trust in the Lord Jesus Christ will increase exponentially.

We have the opportunity this weekend to listen to words of living Apostles and profetas. As you spiritually prepare this week, write down questions that you have- about life, school, work, relationships, studies, jobs, etc… whatever question you have write it down! and then listen… listen through the Spirit during conference and I know you will receive every answer.

I love being a missionary. This year past year means more to me than I can express in words. I know that God is our loving Heavenly Father. I know that Jesus Christ has experienced every feeling, doubt, injury, pain, turmoil, trial, tear, and joy that we have experienced. He is our Perfect Advocate. of this I testify as His representative in His name, even Jesus Christ, amen.

Leave a Reply

