“This way? Yeah! Dead end… umm not inspired.”

Just as a clarification, Brooke’s titles are random quotes from her week.

Boy oh boy… if I could sum up this past week it would be TENDER MERCIES.

Can I just list some? Thanks.

-being in a ward full of audiology and speech pathology majors. I’m like a kid in a candy store!!

-speaking of candy store, I saw a video on lds.org that reminded me of the times the boys and I would turn our bikes upside down with other kids from the neighborhood and pretend we worked in an ice cream shop. The 6 year old girl in me was grinning ear to ear.

-my toe nail has fully healed from running the 1/2 marathon LAST OCTOBER!!! Wow. I love that I just put that on the internet

-Sister Bevan and I walked past a miniature "Fort Greenleaf"– Joyners, remember all those good times?! haha I almost took a picture.

-I ran into TWO people who spoke Portuguese. Oh my heart it was wonderful!!! I love Portuguese. (Sorry English)

-Last night I saw Vocal Point!! aaannnnd John from BYU works with them! So I got to set up some XLRs and work microphones and the Mackie. I’m a nerd, it’s fine. Basically it just made my heart smile because John took a picture of us to share with the AV Crew back at BYU.

-two guys in the branch have informed me of my Braves #number1inmyheartandintheleague. Baseball is awesome.

Heavenly Father is just AMAZING!!! He knows us so well and I am beyond words at the tender mercies I’ve personally received… and honestly most of these tender mercies came the past 3 days.

The work in Iowa City is work- it’s hard and it’s a roller coaster of emotions because people have agency but man I love this city!! I wish I could just shout at them "I LOVE YOU!!!! PLEASE LISTEN!!" haha but I don’t know if the Spirit works that way šŸ™‚ but on a more serious note I’m beginning to see how the Lord is using me to bless peoples’ lives here in Iowa city… I know that Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ are on my side. I don’t have time to write all the experiences of this week but one day I’ll share them. promise.

Sister Bevan has helped me get a six pack because we laugh all the time. It’s great. Humor really helps situations (such as talking to a bunch of drunk people at 4 pm on a Wednesday… really people, 4 pm?!?!) and I’m very grateful for her.

Oh, before I forget- CONGRATULATIONS to all of my engaged/married/pregnant friends. Wow. I knew life would go on with out me but I never expected it to be this fast. It’s fine, I’m not too down šŸ˜‰ Just remember (cough cough) that if you have a baby before I come home, "Brooke" or "Brooks" is a perfectly suitable name. That’s all.

Anyways back to the good stuff…

I found a quote in my studying this past week that really hit me… "Sometimes we must do more than tell the stories of the Book of Mormon, we must live them." Then I though of a scripture in Alma 53:20-21 "And they were all young men, and they were exceedingly valiant for courage, and also for strength and activity; but behold, this was not all- they were men who were true at all times in whatsoever thing they were entrusted. Yea, they were men of truth and soberness, for they had been taught to keep the commandments of God and to walk uprightly before Him."

Boys (Parker, Hamilton, Tate, Eli)- I love y’all. I know that you each will go on to do incredible things in the Lord’s hands. Last week at a mission training meeting a Sister shared a poem that her younger brother had written months before he passed away. I’m not sure word for word but it goes something like this:

"In my hands a baseball is worth a couple dollars. In the hands of Babe Ruth it’s worth hundreds.

In my hands a basketball is worth 10 dollars. In the hands of Michael Jordan it’s worth thousands.
In my hands a football is worth 12 dollars. In the hands of Eli Manning it’s worth millions.

Nails in my hands can build a bird house. Nails in the Savior’s hands means eternal life for all mankind.

It just depends on whose hands its in."

I know as we live the gospel of Jesus Christ that we are putting our lives in HIS hands. We are trusting Him and His perfect plan. He will bless us accordingly. Look for the tender mercies this week. Write them down and then at the end of the day, take your list and say a prayer of gratitude. I promise that as you do so you will feel of His love for you. You will realize how aware He is of you- even down to the tiniest detail and faintest memory. All things testify that He lives. I love Him. I love His work and I am uplifted every day by His hand. If I was doing this on my own I would have given up by now but because I’m never alone, I have strength and energy to keep going.

Thank you for all your love and support. I feel your prayers.

Love,
Sister Wolfgramm

Leave a Reply

