ruge-ruge e piparote

Good news!! Today I wrote some letters!!

Before I forget, can y’all do me a huge favor?! I need everyone who reads this e-mail to take 2 minutes and write a "Dear Elder" to my district. Here are their names. Pick some one and write! It doesn’t have to be long, just something like "hey, we’re praying for you!" or even something funny like "what color is your toothbrush"… the point is, they need some letters and I know y’all can help me out with that 🙂 Thanks so much!!

-Elder Peterson
-Elder Ross
-Elder Childs
-Elder Rivich
-Elder Tomlinson
-Sister Marble
-Sister Greenfield
-Sister Stephens

-Sister Oler
-Sister Cowan

I have successfully completed my third week at the MTC… I’m in my 4th week!! How does that happen?! In a week and a half I will receive my re-assignment… I am excited but a little apprehensive. I love the MTC so much. The teachers, the manuals, the schedules- they are all in our lives because they will help us fufill our purpose. I am so grateful to be at the Provo MTC and I hope that one day I can return and teach here. Ok, on to the random stuff:

*I’m famous. just kidding. but every time the Polynesians see my nametag we end up talking about being family, how I’m polynesian but I don’t look it/ etc. It’s pretty hilarious. Oh and during personal exercise time, I taught the Sisters in my district how to hula.
*Sisters now make up 48% of the MTC. AHH YEAH! GIRL POWER. I’m so grateful to be apart of this work at this time. There is an excitement that has been growing since President Thomas S. Monson’s revelatory announcement back in October and it is so thrilling to witness it first hand.

*I’m the new Sister Training Leader (Sister version of Zone Leader…) for my branch and long story short, I am so grateful for this opportunity. It’s humbling every time I’m asked to fulfill a "leadership" responsibility because it means that people trust me enough to uplift and serve others.
*Before the assignment of Sister Training Leader was extended to me, my district dubbed me the "district mom" so basically now I’m the branch mom… or big sister. For example, today during laundry time a new elder came up to me and asked, "Sister Wolfgramm… ummm… which detergent should I use if I am doing a load of whites?" Hahaha I love the missionaries in my branch and I was happy to help the Elder.

I’m short on time but I just wanted to tell you two neat experiences that I had this week. Every Sunday and Tuesday at the Provo MTC, we have a devotional- a meeting with a spiritual message from one or two pre-assigned speakers. On Sunday we had Sister Janice Kapp Perry come during Relief Society…. (Lauren Holbrook- I can hear you yelling "oh my gosh!!" from here 😉 She has written numerous hymns including "I’m trying to be like Jesus" "As Sisters in Zion" "I love to see the Temple" and "We’ll Bring the World His Truth"… pretty much all of my favorite church songs growing up. Anyways she came, and of course it was on Mother’s Day so every Sister in the building was already emotional but on top of that, she revealed to us that she has written a new songs especially for Sister Missionaries. It is to the tune of "As Sisters in Zion" but the title has been changed to "The Sisters of Zion." I sobbed through the whole thing. The lyrics were specific to missionary work and how "with faith we’ll go forth with Helaman’s Army." For those of you who don’t know, I consider "We’ll Bring the World His Truth (or the Army of Helaman)" my song. It has always touched me very deeply and to stand there with two thousand Sisters singing those lyrics, I felt my soul on fire. I can’t express in words how much I love being a missionary and how grateful I am for the power of music.

On Tuesday we had… ELDER NELSON come!! (you know, from the quorum of the 12!) His wife spoke before him about the power of angels and she encouraged us to pray each day to have angels attend us. I love that… we are God’s children. We know that we will live with Him again if we are worthy and we KNOW that we can see our loved ones again. They are nearer that we know and they rejoice when we rejoice (and cry when we’re in pain). I know I will continue to feel Tutu and Kui’s support as well as others while I’m out in the mission field. The work of salvation is important to thousands of people, on this earth and in Heaven.
Elder Nelson spoke about the importance of family history work and how as missionaries we have the special gift from God to look into people’s souls and see their struggles. He asked the question, "Where is your pain?" … As missionaries it’s not all about getting people baptized so that The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints’ numbers will increase- that is a natural consequence of hearkening to the restored gospel of Jesus Christ- Our purpose as missionaries is to invite others to come unto Christ. We want to help them realize that through the Atonement of Jesus Christ, their burdens can be made light, that they can feel eternal joy, and that they are truly children of The Most High God.

All my love,
Sister Wolfgramm

P.S- during my reading I found a beautiful passage of scripture… Alma 5: 7 "they were in the midst of darkness; nevertheless, their souls were illuminated by the light of the everlasting word." The gospel of Jesus Christ is that illuminating light. Share you light. Share you love, share you testimony, and share you experiences. We could all use a little more light in our lives.

One thought on “ruge-ruge e piparote

  1. Love, love, love connecting with you through your blog. Will take the time to Dear Elder and Dear Sister those in your MTC mission district. Keep in touch, keep learning, keep the faith. With umas from Colorado. Auntie C

Leave a Reply

